Forums - autoboot mode not working

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
autoboot mode not working
tompelaia
Join Date: 2 Oct 20
Posts: 11
Posted: Sun, 2020-11-08 11:23

I've successfully flashed my CDB4020 board, but when I remove jumper J31 and cycle the power I'm not seeing anything show up in the serial terminal. Originally, when I received the card, I could see output in the serial terminal. I'm not sure why I no longer see any output in the terminal. I've flashed the card several times using JTAG with different demos and flashing seems to succeed, but I never see any output in the serial terminal.

Here's a picture of my setup: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GTSTjdTfxV0dzH579xqDDT8PYQEUOEtr/view?u...

Any guidance on what could be wrong or how to debug the issue?

Thanks,

Tom

  • Up0
  • Down0
raja_pedada
Profile picture
Join Date: 18 Jun 18
Location: San Jose
Posts: 297
Posted: Mon, 2020-11-09 13:50

Kindly make sure you have build the HelloWorld Application using "build.bat t 4020 cdb" or equivalent commands and reflash to check if serial console works.
 

  • Up0
  • Down0
tompelaia
Join Date: 2 Oct 20
Posts: 11
Posted: Mon, 2020-11-09 13:55

I've rebuilt it multiple times. When I run gdb I can see it enter the init and that's about as far as it goes. I'm very frustrated with this board.

  • Up0
  • Down0
raja_pedada
Profile picture
Join Date: 18 Jun 18
Location: San Jose
Posts: 297
Posted: Mon, 2020-11-09 16:40

Kindly refer to hello world demo turorial under https://developer.qualcomm.com/hardware/qca4020-qca4024/tutorial-videos

Incase the flashing of Image is successful, it is expected to see the console with "Hello World" debug prints.
Make sure you have opened the higher COM port (COM 10 incase of ports  COM9/COM10 are enumurated)

  • Up0
  • Down0
tompelaia
Join Date: 2 Oct 20
Posts: 11
Posted: Tue, 2020-11-10 09:38

So, I can get Hello World to work as long as I don't write anything and remove the Sleep() calls. I can run in the gdb debugger and step through the loop. I added simple aritmentic to perform in the loop and sure enough I can step through that code without issue. The problem is that calls (e.g. Sleep) are attempting to write something which causes the Invalid ACK (0) in DAP response.  Whatever is attempting to write is being called in one of the functions called from Sleep(), and I'm sure there are many other such calls as I add more code.

Is there a way to diagnose this problem with this card?

Is there a way to universally disable the attempted writes? Thanks.

  • Up0
  • Down0
tompelaia
Join Date: 2 Oct 20
Posts: 11
Posted: Fri, 2020-11-13 14:03

Interstingly I was able to get the QCLI_demo working in autoboot mode, but no Hello World. So, I'm happy that I have a working demo!!!

  • Up0
  • Down0
or Register

Opinions expressed in the content posted here are the personal opinions of the original authors, and do not necessarily reflect those of Qualcomm Incorporated or its subsidiaries (“Qualcomm”). The content is provided for informational purposes only and is not meant to be an endorsement or representation by Qualcomm or any other party. This site may also provide links or references to non-Qualcomm sites and resources. Qualcomm makes no representations, warranties, or other commitments whatsoever about any non-Qualcomm sites or third-party resources that may be referenced, accessible from, or linked to this site.