Forums - [Q] Is FastCV for Snapdragon optimized based on Adreno GPU?

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
[Q] Is FastCV for Snapdragon optimized based on Adreno GPU?
jaehyeonyoo
Posted: Wed, 2016-03-09 23:13

Hi I'm a novice of Qualcomm SDK and I firstly meet FastCV and Adreno GPU SDK.

As we know, OpenCV has a compile option for GPU parallelism. Is there couterpart in FastCV?

I know that my Qualcomm chipset has Adreno GPU. Is FastCV already optimized with respect to that GPU?

Or, do i need to implement parallel code based on Adreno GPU SDK instead?

Thank you in advance,

Jae Yoo

• Up0
  • Down0
jeff4s Moderator
Posted: Thu, 2016-03-10 15:38

Hi,

The way to use GPU optimized FastCV APIs is different from OpenCV. FastCV has GPU optimization for a subset of APIs. Usually user sets the appropriate operating mode, e.g. FASTCV_OP_PERFORMANCE, if an API has GPU-optimized variant and it provides best performance then it will run on GPU. However user cannot handpick a particular API to run on GPU.

Cheers,

-Jeff

• Up0
  • Down0
gutao
Posted: Tue, 2017-06-06 20:44

Hi, 

What will a FastCV program run on in default without setting the operating mode? Will it run on CPU or Hexagon DSP?

Can we specify where the FastCV program should run on?

I have downloaded both the SDK for Hexagon and FasterCV as well. I want to implement some computer vision related algorithms on Qualcomm Snapdragon 820 platform, which SDK should I choose, Hexagon or FasterCV?

BR

Frank

• Up0
  • Down0
jeff4s Moderator
Posted: Thu, 2017-06-08 14:32

Hi,

Some FastCV APIs have been optimized for Adreno GPU. Depending on the API and operation mode, GPU optimization may be used at run time. It's entirely transparent to the user. Since FastCV is not open source, it is different from OpenCV where you can compile your own lib to choose GPU implementation.

With Adreno SDK you write your own OpenCL code to run on Adreno GPU.

Cheers,

-Jeff

• Up0
  • Down0
gutao
Posted: Fri, 2017-06-16 01:05

Hi,