Forums - RB5 boot problems

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
RB5 boot problems
andrew.loeliger
Join Date: 8 Jun 21
Posts: 3
Posted: Tue, 2021-06-08 16:24

Hi, I can't get my RB5 board to work. I'm working on an Ubuntu 18.04 system. I have created a code image that seems to have been created correctly, downloaded and flashed but the board doesn't seem to be able to communicate with the laptop using adb. Adb doesn't find any devices. I have also tried connecting to the micro USB serial debug port but no data came through. Green LED1 turns on only after the power and the USB C are plugged in. The LED continues to stay on permanently afterwards. An HDMI display was also attached and the 8 cores could be seen but signal was quickly lost afterwards.

 

Any advice would be really appreciated. Thanks.

  • Up0
  • Down0
mistry Moderator
Join Date: 18 Apr 18
Posts: 45
Posted: Tue, 2021-06-08 20:45

Hi Andrew,

Can you please share more information? 
Are you using the SDK Manager from Thundercomm to build and flash the LU image?
 

When you say you could see 8 cores on HDMI display but signal was lost, can you elaborate what you saw?
Can you try to re-flash the image using SDK Manager? 

Best Regards,
Rajan.

  • Up0
  • Down0
andrew.loeliger
Join Date: 8 Jun 21
Posts: 3
Posted: Wed, 2021-06-09 04:04

Hi, yes I used the Thundercomm SDK manager. Using this, I get:

 

"Flashing image... done

...

 Waiting for boot up, time elapsed: 70s

 Waiting for boot up, time elapsed: 80s

 Waiting for boot up, time elapsed: 90s

 

There is something wrong happened in boot up process

Please restart your device manually"

 

I hooked up an HDMI monitor and was able to see 8 penguins across the top of the screen.

  • Up0
  • Down0
kevin.dai
Join Date: 21 Oct 20
Posts: 107
Posted: Wed, 2021-06-09 11:55

From the description you provided, the device was booted up, the green LED on, but you could not see adb devices. It looks strange.

Can you connect your device to windows machine, and  check port in device manager ? What ports in there?

It is better to capture boot up log massge during boot-up. Can you power off device, disconnect USB and debug port, reconnect the debug port and USB port, then power on device, hold on device power on button for 5 seconds, if you can see boot-up log, capture them. Let's see if you can capture boot up log

 

 

  • Up0
  • Down0
andrew.loeliger
Join Date: 8 Jun 21
Posts: 3
Posted: Thu, 2021-06-10 15:45

Hi, thanks for the help so far.

 

I have connected to a windows machine and was able to see the board in COM3.

 

Upon connecting the USB and debug port, data was then able to be seen on the port. Once the power was plugged in (Power button not pressed), the debug data changed and stopped running. I also took note of the debug data while the ubuntu machine was trying to flash the device.

 

I have copied them to a document but was unsure of the best way to forward/post them.

  • Up0
  • Down0
kevin.dai
Join Date: 21 Oct 20
Posts: 107
Posted: Wed, 2021-06-16 14:05

only one port com3, it looks like it is debug port, the adb device port is not availabe.

 

  • Up0
  • Down0
markpensier12
Join Date: 19 Jun 21
Posts: 1
Posted: Sat, 2021-06-19 01:09

I also have the same problems.

  • Up0
  • Down0
or Register

Opinions expressed in the content posted here are the personal opinions of the original authors, and do not necessarily reflect those of Qualcomm Incorporated or its subsidiaries (“Qualcomm”). The content is provided for informational purposes only and is not meant to be an endorsement or representation by Qualcomm or any other party. This site may also provide links or references to non-Qualcomm sites and resources. Qualcomm makes no representations, warranties, or other commitments whatsoever about any non-Qualcomm sites or third-party resources that may be referenced, accessible from, or linked to this site.