Forums - Additional button and function for Mesh Lighting Application

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Additional button and function for Mesh Lighting Application
kian
Posted: Wed, 2016-06-08 07:23

Hi all,

Currently the Mesh Lighting Development Kit has 3 buttons. 1 for ON/OFF, and another 2 for brightness control. I would like to develop an application to add another push button (on the MeshSwitch)  such that when it is pressed, it tiggers an effect on the MeshLight, eg. flash the LEDs for 10 seconds.

I am new to development on CSR. Can someone shed some light on how this can be done? Is it easy to modify the existing sample application to include this function?

Thanks in advance.

• Up0
  • Down0
kian
Posted: Tue, 2016-06-14 22:21

Anyone can provide any recomendations on this?

• Up0
  • Down0
rg02
Posted: Wed, 2016-06-15 08:00

This is possible.  One way to implement this would be to alter the switch code to send messages to the MeshLights to turn on and off, and then use a timer in the MeshSwitch application to control when these messages get sent.

Roger

• Up0
  • Down0
kian
Posted: Thu, 2016-06-16 01:09

Thanks Roger,

But this is not an efficient method. If I want to light to blink for 1 minute, then my switch needs to be sending messages to the light for 1 minute. My switch is battery powered and the light is powered by mains power supply.

I am thinking if just sending a specific message/command to the light instead. I was reading through some of the documentation and came across the DataModel:

The Data Model transmits either a stream or blocks of arbitrary data between two devices. For stream data, each octet within the stream has an octet number. This octet number provides the reliable delivery of the stream data as a sequence number. For block data, there is no reliable delivery of messages.

Should I be using the data model instead? Or is there any other better method?

• Up0
  • Down0
rg02
Posted: Thu, 2016-06-16 05:55