Forums - Proper usage of 'fcvCornerFast9u8' and 'fcvDescriptor17x17u8To36s8'

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
Proper usage of 'fcvCornerFast9u8' and 'fcvDescriptor17x17u8To36s8'
Estefan_Antelo
Posted: Thu, 2012-03-08 01:54

Hello :)

First of all, I'm new to computer vision and FastCV. For my study I have to build a small car which can detect a wooden cube on the floor, then pick it up and transport it to a predefined place. This is how I think to do it:

Preparation

1. I've done some pictures of the scene with a cube in it.
  2. Now I've created an App to load the Images from the phone gallery and do FAST corner detection.
  3. when the FAST corner detection has finished I would like to extract a 17x17px patch at the given corner points
  4. with this patches then I would create a set of valid Descriptors
  5. the generated valid Descriptors then would be saved persistent.

Usage

1. While the car is driving I would apply FAST Corner detection (similar to the FastCV Sample App)
  2. then I would do with each corner the same as in step 3 and 4 of the above list
  3. for finish I would compare the Descriptors with those which I've saved in the DB.
  4. If there are at least 3 or 4 matching descriptors the cube was found.

What do you think about this concept?

My main problem for now ist that I don't really know how to use the 'fcvCornerFast9u8' and the 'fcvDescriptor17x17u8To36s8' functions. I tried to just change the FastCV Sample App to meet my needs, but everytime I call the fcvCornerFast9u8 function, the numCorners have the same value as the MAX_CORNER constant. I think this is because the byte array was not aligned correctly. Could you share some snippet/sample on how to use this functions?

Thank you all very much in advance! :)

Steve

• Up0
  • Down0
cyril.bazin@dat...
Posted: Thu, 2012-03-08 07:52

Your approach seems fine but you should better use openCV.

You can find many code samples and forum on the internet.