Forums - How does Trepn Power measure battery power?

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
How does Trepn Power measure battery power?
juampi_fs
Posted: Tue, 2016-07-19 08:33
Hi, I'm a Computer Engenieer student, I'm working in an Informatic Lab and researching about power consumption in differents apps.

I'm going to use this tool to take some measurements about the battery power. I want to know how is the way it works. How it collects the information, or where, about the power consumption.

What is the accuracy of all the measurements?  
Is there Scientific Publications that explains the tool?

regards
  • Up0
  • Down0
ToolsPM
Posted: Tue, 2016-07-19 11:02

Hello, 

Your questions are good ones. 

Q: How does Trepn Profiler collect power data?

It gets its power readings from the power management IC (PMIC) and the battery fuel gauge software.  

Q: What is the accuracy of all the measurements?

Accuracy is very good on devices that are known to report accurate power when best practices are followed. How accurate? I did some power readings at different screen brigthness levels on a Nexus 6 that were compared to hardware-based readings on a Monsoon Power Monitor. Trepn's accuracy varies. In some cases the error is only 0.2%. The average error of my measurements was 2.1%. Worst case error was 5.5%. You can see the detailed results here. Examples of devices known to report accurate power include Nexus 5, Nexus 6, Nexus 7 and others. 

Important notes: One of the reasons these readings are so close is because Trepn and the Monsoon were running at the same time on the same device. You should keep in mind that in general Trepn's power readings are generally going to be higher than hardware readings because it is running on-target (aka on the device). By default it samples every 100ms and collects a lot of data, so it is affecting the readings. You can change the sample rate, but that can affect accuracy, because you'll miss more power spikes.