Forums - Nexus 6 Adreno 420 render issue

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Nexus 6 Adreno 420 render issue
dhaval.shah
Join Date: 1 Apr 15
Posts: 3
Posted: Wed, 2015-04-01 15:23

We have been facing drawing render texture on Nexus 6 which issues Adreno 420 adter updating it to Android Lollipop 5.1 OS. It used to work fine on 5.0 Using cocos2d-x 2.2 engine for render textures.

I have attached the code for those files. It would be great if we can get some help on that . thanks.

  • Up0
  • Down0
mhfeldma Moderator
Join Date: 29 Nov 12
Posts: 310
Posted: Wed, 2015-04-01 16:38

Hi...  Sorry to hear you're having troubles using render textures on Nexus 6.  Could you explain a bit more about the problem and specific api that you think is broken?  If you have an apk which demonstrates the problem, that would be good.  Also could you provide the build information that shows up on the Nexus 6, as well as an Android log file which will help identifiy the driver?

 

 

  • Up0
  • Down0
dhaval.shah
Join Date: 1 Apr 15
Posts: 3
Posted: Wed, 2015-04-01 17:19
Thanks for reaching out. It seems when we try to render after binding new Framebuffer it newver renders on screen. The file attached before we use begin() and end() on rendertexture to draw the exisitng texture . Code hasn't been updated in the while and we tested on other Android devices with Lollipop 5.1
 
Issue in Build: Once you get the apk and you go in, you would see when Avatar draws there would not be any clothes, but if you install same build on Nexus 6 with os 5.0 it renders fine. 
 
P.S You can download app from google Play Store, here is the link : https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.crowdstar.covetfashion...
 
Build Numer: LMY47D
 
  • Up0
  • Down0
dhaval.shah
Join Date: 1 Apr 15
Posts: 3
Posted: Thu, 2015-04-02 11:27

Hi We found the issue and solution.These are the steps we were following

1) Create new framebuffer (FB1) for RenderTexture 

2) Bind temp buffer and cache the existing framebuffer(FB2)

3) Bind texture(T1) to new framebuffer(FB1) and then later use that texture(T1)

4) Bind the oldFramebuffer(FB2) back 

5) Delete the temporay buffer(FB1) (This step was causing issue. It deleted the bounded texture(T1) when the buffer(FB1) was deleted, which we were using later as mentioned in step 3. So the solution was before we bind buffer (FB2) back we unbound texture from buffer(FB1) so it doesn't delete the texture.)

Problem with step 5 only occured on Nexus 6 with Android 5.1 . It worked fine on Nexus 6 with Android 5.0 and also works fine on other devices with Android 5.1. 

Thanks for the help and looking into it. Hope the solution helps someone. 

 

  • Up0
  • Down0
or Register

Opinions expressed in the content posted here are the personal opinions of the original authors, and do not necessarily reflect those of Qualcomm Incorporated or its subsidiaries (“Qualcomm”). The content is provided for informational purposes only and is not meant to be an endorsement or representation by Qualcomm or any other party. This site may also provide links or references to non-Qualcomm sites and resources. Qualcomm makes no representations, warranties, or other commitments whatsoever about any non-Qualcomm sites or third-party resources that may be referenced, accessible from, or linked to this site.