Forums - Adreno Profiler

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
Adreno Profiler
AlexVK79
Join Date: 16 Mar 11
Posts: 2
Posted: Thu, 2011-03-17 10:52

OK, so I use Adreno Profiler 2.3.4038.25748 (in About menu) on Windows XP.

And HTC Legend (Android 2.2 ) which I believe uses Adreno 200 GPU, right ?

 

I've got  <uses-permission android:name="android.permission.INTERNET" />

in AndroidManifest.xml in my game and I have a game launched on device

(it uses GLSurfaceView and the rest of the OpenGL code is in C++ via NDK)

I followed all other steps and on Connect I get :

- Found 1 ADB device.

- Scanning for applications.

- WARNING! ADB found a device, but no Adreno Profiler enabled applications can be found. If your app is running....

 

Am I doing anything wrong ?

Should the device be rooted or smth ? (it's a commercial one)

 

 

  • Up0
  • Down2
Steve L Moderator
Join Date: 1 Oct 12
Posts: 93
Posted: Fri, 2011-03-18 16:30

Hi Alexander,

The device shouldn't need to be rooted.  There's a number of checks that you can do to see what's not working for you though:

  • See if the Adreno Profiler library is installed on your system; you can do this by calling "adb shell ls -l /system/lib/egl/libq*". If the library is there, you should see libq3dtools_adreno200.so in that directory.
  • Try running Neocore with the Profiler and seeing if it connects up.
  • Make sure any Internet Sharing is disabled
  • Verify that the USB connection to the machine is in "charge only"

Let us know what results you get from that, thanks.

-Steve

  • Up0
  • Down0
AlexVK79
Join Date: 16 Mar 11
Posts: 2
Posted: Mon, 2011-03-21 04:15

It seems that we only have

egl.cfg, libEGL_adreno200.so, libGLES_android.so, libGLESv1_CM_adreno200.so and libGLESv2_adreno200.so

in /system/lib/egl/.

Does that mean we are completely out of luck with this HTC Legend device ?

Can we get libq3dtools_adreno200.so somewhere and copy it to  /system/lib/egl/

and would profiler work if we did so ?

 

 

  • Up0
  • Down0
Steve L Moderator
Join Date: 1 Oct 12
Posts: 93
Posted: Wed, 2011-03-23 17:08

Unfortunately the lack of that library means that device does not support the Adreno Profiler at this time.  Pulling the library from another device would not be a recommended solution as the calls may not line up properly.

  • Up0
  • Down0
Sandeep_Kowdley
Join Date: 14 Oct 11
Posts: 3
Posted: Fri, 2011-10-14 12:45

Hi,

I have a similar issue with the HTC Flyer. I can find the required lib, have the permission set...but I still get the same issue. What am i missing?

Thanks

  • Up0
  • Down0
Steve L Moderator
Join Date: 1 Oct 12
Posts: 93
Posted: Fri, 2011-10-14 15:23

Hi Sandeep,

Have you already gone through the steps in the Help Center under Device Installation and Frequently Asked Questions?  Please also look through the Known Issues there as well.  If that still doesn't help, please let us know if you were able to make any progress and your experience.

  • Up0
  • Down0
Jason_Pecho
Join Date: 11 Nov 11
Posts: 5
Posted: Fri, 2011-11-11 19:23

Hi,

I've been having the same problem listed above. I've followed the install instructions in Help Center to a T but still no luck. I'm running on an HTC Evo 4G. I verified everything you asked about in a previous post except for Neocore. I'm not sure what that is. Anyways, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Jason

  • Up0
  • Down0
Steve L Moderator
Join Date: 1 Oct 12
Posts: 93
Posted: Wed, 2011-11-16 14:47

Jason, Neocore is a benchmarking app from the Android marketplace:

https://market.android.com/details?id=com.qualcomm.qx.neocore&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwyLDEsImNvbS5xdWFsY29tbS5xeC5uZW9jb3JlIl0.

Unfortunately, the HTC Evo 4G does not have the appropriate software loaded to interact with the Adreno Profiler.  A Nexus One may be a better option if available to you

  • Up0
  • Down0
Jason_Pecho
Join Date: 11 Nov 11
Posts: 5
Posted: Wed, 2011-11-16 15:34

Thanks for getting back to me, Steve. I was actually able to get the Evo 4G hooked up to the profiler. I believe I may have actually been typing "debugger.egl.profiler" instead of "debug.egl.profiler." It still seems a bit sketchy as to how often it connects. I had to install HTC Sync to install the drivers for the Evo and having that running may have interfered with the adb server I had started on the device. So I made sure to exit that and then run the command "adb shell setprop debug.egl.profiler 1" in the command window. After that it seemed to hook up to the profiler just fine.

 

Thanks again, hope this helps others!

  • Up0
  • Down0
wravaine
Join Date: 28 Feb 13
Posts: 1
Posted: Thu, 2013-02-28 08:46

Hi! I'm having the same problem.

Using Nexus 4, Internet permission enabled, connected to device via USB, ADB installed, and USB Debug mode enabled on the phone.

The device is detected, but the profiler is telling me it's not "adreno profiler enabled". I went through the various instructions in the help docs but it's still not hooking it up.

I'm assuming the profiler can work via the USB connection though. My desktop machine is on a secure corporate intranet while my device is on a separate wifi network, and there's a big firewall behind the two, so I can't use wifi to connect to my device (on top of not having a wifi equipped desktop machine). Am I out of luck here?

  • Up0
  • Down0
Dave Astle
Profile picture
Join Date: 19 Oct 12
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 103
Posted: Thu, 2013-02-28 09:11

There's another thread here about Nexus 4 specifically. For some reason, Adreno Profiler support was stripped out of the build for that device. There will be an update in May that fixes this. In the meantime, we're trying to identify whether or not there's a build currently availble on CodeAurora in which it's working, but I doubt it.

  • Up0
  • Down1
laurenli.2013
Join Date: 2 Dec 13
Posts: 1
Posted: Tue, 2013-12-03 23:30

Hi Steve,

I met the same question as Alexander on Nexus 5. There is only egl.cfg and libGLES_android.so in /system/lib/egl/. Where can I get needed libraries for Adreno Profiler? Thank you.

Thanks

Wang Li 

  • Up1
  • Down0
singingsingh
Join Date: 20 Jan 15
Posts: 1
Posted: Tue, 2015-01-20 22:47

Go through the documentation of the profiler software.

In device installation there is a list of instruction to follow.

  • Up0
  • Down0
paturi.sreeramsagar
Join Date: 7 Jun 17
Posts: 5
Posted: Tue, 2017-06-13 02:47

Hi,
I'm trying to make the Test setup with Touch screen and facing the same issue with the Adreno tool.Because the Adreno profiler app is not available anywhere in the internet like Playstore.Even I tried to install the Neocore application,but admin rights are not allowing me to download it.Could you Please,provide me the alternate solution for this issue.

  • Up0
  • Down0
mhfeldma Moderator
Join Date: 29 Nov 12
Posts: 312
Posted: Tue, 2017-06-13 06:42

Could you try Snapdragon Profiler instead as we are not supporting Adreno Profiler any more?

https://developer.qualcomm.com/software/snapdragon-profiler

 

 

  • Up0
  • Down0
paturi.sreeramsagar
Join Date: 7 Jun 17
Posts: 5
Posted: Wed, 2017-06-14 02:35

Hi,

If you don't mind could you please provide me the older version location of  Adreno profiler apk file for my Android 4.4.2 OS.

  • Up0
  • Down0
mhfeldma Moderator
Join Date: 29 Nov 12
Posts: 312
Posted: Wed, 2017-06-14 08:00
  • Up0
  • Down0
or Register

Opinions expressed in the content posted here are the personal opinions of the original authors, and do not necessarily reflect those of Qualcomm Incorporated or its subsidiaries (“Qualcomm”). The content is provided for informational purposes only and is not meant to be an endorsement or representation by Qualcomm or any other party. This site may also provide links or references to non-Qualcomm sites and resources. Qualcomm makes no representations, warranties, or other commitments whatsoever about any non-Qualcomm sites or third-party resources that may be referenced, accessible from, or linked to this site.